The Nerd Talks..

Daily Prompt: Back to School

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/daily-prompt-mastery/

I don’t want to take a break from life to go back to school because I love the academic world. I want to be in school, young and forever. Though I don’t enjoy the subjects I’m currently studying, I can’t wait to get back to college and start studying. I love filling my brain with facts and essays, cutting them down, absorbing the essence of it and attempting an examination to see how well I fare. So I can’t wait for the summer vacation to close in two weeks and get back to college where I can attend dull 8 am lectures, write assignments which I feel no connection to and sit in labs where we hook various wires to circuits.

But as I was re-reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone for the nth time to relive my childhood, I was thinking about blogging about the perfect school much like Hogwards where you study Transfiguration, Defence against the Dark Arts, Potions, Charms and Herbology and this is the perfect opportunity for doing so.

The school you see, is as important as the subjects themselves. The University should ample walks among trees for strolls with your best best when you’re having emotional crises, dorm rooms for gossip sessions, huge libraries where we can group study and preferably all this in a castle which will evoke the imagination.

As for the subjects themselves, I think my dream course would be one where I can study the following:

Creative Writing and English Literature- reading novels for an examination seems so surreal as opposed to cramming from textbooks

Hindu and Buddhist Philosophy

History particularly of Egypt and Indus Civilization

Mathematics- because when I’m stressed, working out mathematical problems methodically is very liberating.

But the best moments in college are those long walks with friends discussing everything under the Sun, the coffee breaks we take the night before the test, the joy of doing well on a test for which you have worked very hard and the safety in knowing exactly how long these pleasures will last.

5 thoughts on “The Nerd Talks..

Leave a Reply

