Trying to be more with a little fun along the way

Daily Prompt: Tagline

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

This writing challenge got me questioning about myself- something which has been triggered quite a number of times during confusing trials but here I am attempting to put them all down to hopefully draw some sort of conclusion.

Thinking about oneself, the first impulse is to start associating adjectives with one’s personality. But I don’t want to do this because it’s always subject to change like the forewarning in insurance policy schemes. Moreover adjectives are all very comparative and I don’t want to draw up standards. If I claimed I was creative, I have to specify it as a compaison with someone more creative than me  or less creative. It is a measure just like intelligence and while being around some groups of people, I feel smart and some people makes me question if my brain exists at all. Attributes of a personality are never fixed and depend on the situation as well. I am a very open and verbose person but I have my days when my mood demands peace and quiet. Also, we all have our limits. As noble as you are, some things especially if you feel the other person is taking advantage of your nobility, you will feel ticked off.

So I don’t want to describe myself by a ginormous list of adjectives which got me thinking about the names my friends endowed upon me, hoping what the world thinks about me would shine some light on the matter. Well, to begin with- my parents named me after the Goddess of Learning in Hindu mythology which was a title later bestowed upon a famous poet/freedom fighter/revolutionary. Well, they didn’t know me when I came into this planet, did they? So this doesn’t describe me, though it is  always something which I  aspire towards. My friends came up with numerous nick names at different points of my life, the most respectable of them all which I can mention being ‘blah blah’, a testimony to my loquacity. But though they notice the most dominating characteristic in my personality, I’m not merely that. Moreover we show only a fragment of our true self to the world and this comes as no help to discovering yourself. If the question turns to nature of our true selves, this might turn into a long and never ending philosophical debate which I don’t want to turn this particular blog to turn into!

This has helped me to narrow down to the idea that all of us and not just me, are trying to always be something more- something better than what we are. Accomplishment is the greatest source of happiness for me. Learning something new, over coming fears, jumping hurdles and building greater personal values. Growth seems to be the only reason I can see in life- it’s hard to say what we are here for but growth seems like a pretty decent ambition which brings Einstein’s quote to memory :”Intellectual growth should commence at birth and cease only at death” Even with regards to our behavior, we have the power to choose our response and therein lies our freedom and road to growth. So with no fancy words, I decided my tagline.

Trying to be more with a little fun along the way

Yeah, because those cold coffees, movie time with friends and quality time with family makes life brighter. Wow, never realized caffeine came first in my list.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/daily-prompt-tagline/

3 thoughts on “Trying to be more with a little fun along the way

  1. I’m laughing because I read through your older posts and you’ve mentioned your iced coffees a couple of times now! After looking at your writing (which is very refreshing to read!) I can see why my writing reminded you of yourself; I see the same thing with your writing! I’m looking forward to being blog friends and seeing what you have to say!

  2. Hey … One of the reasons I could never live in the countryside is I too need my caffeine – Starbucks in particular 🙂 I was a little late in adding my two cents to this topic – but had to finally jump in. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

